House Majority Whip Doreen Gallegos, Chair Javier Martínez and Chair Antonio “Moe” Maestas Receive 2021 State Champion for Children Award

Advocates from across New Mexico gathered virtually to honor lawmakers for their role in securing permanent funding for early childhood education

Media Contact: Suzanne Arnold, [email protected], (609) 610-4957 (M)

Washington, D.C. (April 15, 2021) – House Majority Whip Doreen Gallegos (D-52), Chair Javier Martínez (D-11) and Chair Antonio “Moe” Maestas (D-16) received Save the Children Action Network (SCAN) 2021 State Champion for Children Awards on April 13.

Every year, the New Mexico community of nearly 5,000 children advocates publicly acknowledges state and local elected officials who helped children benefit from early learning opportunities. Over the past year, Majority Whip Gallegos, Chair Martínez and Chair Maestas demonstrated a true commitment to New Mexico’s kids and families, particularly through their notable efforts to establish the Early Childhood Trust Fund in 2020 and to draw from the Land Grant Permanent Fund to pay for critical early learning programs.

“We are so grateful to these state lawmakers for their admirable dedication to New Mexico kids and families,” said Lacey Daniell-Miller, SCAN New Mexico Manager. “Without their leadership and commitment, fewer children would have access to the high-quality early childhood education programs needed to thrive in school and in life.”

“It doesn’t matter if you are a Republican or a Democrat – we can all agree that every child deserves a strong start in life. This requires doing everything we can during the most formative years of their lives,” said Amanda Montoya, a Volunteer Leader with SCAN. “These champions are making that possible for kids in New Mexico, and we look forward to continuing to work with each of them to make more progress for kids and families in our state.”

Access a recording of this event here.